Oh, Tuesday: Look Up

Hey friends. Man, this has been a horribly rough week.  For me, this time of year always reminds me of losing my dad.  This week has been all about friends hurting from loss.  Lots of loss.

Keep looking up. Cheesy, I know. But seriously.  Keep looking up, you never know what you’ll find.  My faith keeps me looking up.  Not physically, but spiritually.  Quiet conversations with my God, prayers for my friends, and family.  Sometimes I know of nothing else I can do.  I know how words don’t make anything better.  Hugs can only stretch so far.  Sometimes I know that the only way to make something better is to ask for it to be better.  I don’t know what else to say without seeming preachy.  This all just comes from deep pain.  When my friends hurt, I hurt.  And I pray that their hurt would be so temporary, that their pain would lead to great healing, and deeper relationships.  I don’t know, I can’t solve a thing.  It’s not ME that has any power over healing.

Keep looking up.  Like the top photo above.  I was in Hawaii with my wife, and trees are just shade.  When it’s sunny, we stand under them.  We take that for granted.  It was nice to look up and see this gorgeous puzzle creation made from leaves and branches.  What a surprise.

Are you in pain? Does your heart hurt?  Do you feel like sharing?  If you do, please comment.  I may not have the words, but someone else might.  This time of year shouldn’t be about mourning, but about celebration.

*images from my recent trip to Hawaii

Leave a Reply

