Oh, Tuesday: Solitude

This time of year is usually slow for business.  It’s ok, the rest of the year kind of gets a little crazy.  I know, if you’ve been reading the blogs here, that you’ve seen a few images here and there from my recent trip to Hawaii with my wife.

That trip was rad.  I know, you’re thinking, “Nice one dummy, you were in Hawaii. Of course it was rad.” But let me clarify.  Hawaii wasn’t the oversaturated-with-color, tropical and quiet place you think it is.  Not Oahu at least.  But that’s not the point.  You can avoid crowds, you can be alone.  We found a tiny little beach, on a point, only accessible to locals except for the one parking spot open to anybody else.  That was us.  It was unmarked and open.  As we sat on the north shore of Oahu, watching the sun set into the ocean with only a few locals passing by with their dogs, we experienced solitude.  So much so that it almost made me uneasy.  I’m so used to the craziness of San Diego, that when I have nothing to do, when I slow down, it almost hurts.

Do you know what that’s like?  How do you slow down?  That’s not a rhetorical question.  I could use the advice on this one!  Don’t get me wrong, I loved the constant pounding of the waves on the rocks, the clouds moving over head and always changing, the enjoyable loneliness … but how do I get that here?  How do I quickly find that spot where I can slow down long enough to breathe.  Maybe even for 20 minutes.

Tell me your secret tricks.

 

Leave a Reply

